Congratulations to the Greater Ohio Sustainable Development Award Finalists

Greater Ohio Policy Center congratulates the following individuals and organizations who have been chosen as Finalists for the Greater Ohio Sustainable Development Awards.  All of our Finalists have made outstanding contributions to achieving vibrant and prosperous communities in Ohio.  Award Winners will be announced at the Summit during the Awards ceremony breakfast at 8:30 am on March 8, 2017.  

Private Sector Champion Award Finalists.  
This Award recognizes an entity or individual operating in the private sector who has demonstrated a commitment to and excellence in existing communities and strengthening local economies in Ohio

CareSource is a managed health care organization that is making major investments that are leading the rejuvenation of Downtown Dayton.

ProMedica is a nonprofit health system serving northwest Ohio that will move its headquarters to downtown Toledo in summer 2017, bringing 1,000 jobs and a $60 million investment.

Scott Ziance is a Partner at the Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease, LLP, who led the charge to preserve the Ohio Historic Tax Credit in 2015. 


Nonprofit Sector Luminary Award Finalists.
This award recognizes an entity or individual operating in the nonprofit sector that has employed innovative thinking in working with communities to identify and address local needs and opportunities with distinction.

Dayton Children’s Hospital serves as one of the DaVinci Partners that is leading the redevelopment of the Old North Dayton and McCook Field Neighborhoods.

Jeanne Golliher is President and CEO of Cincinnati Development Fund, a nationally recognized Community Development Financial Institution that provides much-needed credit and investment capital in Cincinnati’s underserved neighborhoods. 

Yay Bikes! is a nonprofit organization that advocates for safer conditions for bicyclists in Central Ohio and statewide, including the recently-enacted 3-foot passing law.  YayBikes organizes professional development rides with local officials to give them a “bike’s view” of local roads. 

Public Sector Leader Award Finalists.
This award recognizes a public sector individual or entity exemplifying outstanding leadership and innovation in advancing policies or programs that incentivize and enable community reinvestment and sustainable development in Ohio’s cities and regions.

Rep. Jonathan Dever sponsored House Bill 463, passed by the Ohio General Assembly in 2016, which contains new provisions that will help Ohio’s communities mitigate and prevent blight. 

Douglas A. Garver has served as the Executive Director of the Ohio Housing Finance Agency since 2004.  Under his leadership, OHFA has provided assistance to first-time homebuyers, homeowners, renters, seniors, and others who might not otherwise be able to afford quality housing. 

Darryl Rush, being honored posthumously, served as the City of Cleveland’s Director of Community Development for 13 years. He is remembered for his dynamic leadership and dedication to serving the people of Cleveland. 

Rep. Kirk Schuring has authored dozens of legislative initiatives to improve community development, including the establishment of Joint Economic Development Districts and the recent enacted of House Bill 233, which created Downtown Redevelopment Districts. 

Catalytic Partnership Award Finalists.
This Award recognizes a cross-sector partnership that has had a positive impact on a community or region, and represents a model for creative and effective collaboration.

The Downtown Akron Vision and Redevelopment Plan identified 10 planning priorities to shape Akron’s future.  The Plan was shepherded by the Downtown Akron Partnership and City of Akron with support from the Knight Foundation and GAR Foundation. 

Link Lima/Allen County is an employer-centric workforce development strategy taking on the most daunting workforce challenges of employers in the Greater Lima Region through a private/public partnership among Allen Economic Development Group, OhioMeansJobs-Allen County, and many hundreds of employers.

RNC Host Committee is a multi-sector nonprofit corporation comprised of leaders from across Cleveland who dedicated themselves to ensuring that the 2016 Republican National Convention was a success and highlighted the positive work taking place in the city.